Ayurvedic Oil Pulling

Ayurvedic oil pulling, have you heard of it?  Having read about it in the past, but never having tried it before today I was very surprised by how wonderful my mouth felt when I completed the required 15 minutes of swishing sesame oil around.  Yes, it was difficult to do for 15 minutes and sesame is not the most appealing oil, there is an initial gag reflex.  However I felt a benefit after doing it just one time and from what I have read the benefits seem to far outweigh the small inconveniences.  If you like, you can try coconut oil which you may melt over low heat before putting in your mouth (it will melt in your mouth) or alternatively there are a few oral pulling rinse formulas available at your local health food grocer that are much more pleasant.  For a complete how to on oil pulling, there are many Internet descriptions, but it is really very simple.  Done first thing in the morning on an empty stomach, you place a teaspoon of your chosen oil into your mouth and swish it around for approximately 15 minutes (some say 20, experiment).  Do not swallow!  There is no right way to do this, so don’t put too much thought into it.  Spit it out and if possible rinse with salt water to sooth any inflammation and to further remove any toxins left behind.

Ayurveda is a holistic system of healing which evolved among the Brahmin sages of ancient India some 3000-5000 years ago. There are several aspects of this system of medicine which distinguish it from other approaches to health care:

  1. It focuses on establishing and maintaining balance of the life energies within us, rather than focusing on individual symptoms.
  2. It recognizes the unique constitutional differences of all individuals and therefore recommends different regimens for different types of people. Although two people may appear to have the same outward symptoms, their energetic constitutions may be very different and therefore call for very different remedies.
  3. Ayurveda is a complete medical system, which recognizes that ultimately all intelligence and wisdom, flows from one Absolute source (Paramatman). Health manifests by the grace of the Absolute acting through the laws of Nature (Prakriti). Ayurveda assists Nature by promoting harmony between the individual and Nature by living a life of balance according to her laws.
  4. Ayurveda describes three fundamental universal energies that regulate all natural processes on both the macrocosmic and microcosmic levels. That is, the same energies that produce effects in the various galaxies and star systems are operating at the level of the human physiology–in your own physiology. These three universal energies are known as the Tridosha.
  5. Finally, the ancient Ayurvedic physicians realized the need for preserving the alliance of the mind and body and offers mankind tools for remembering and nurturing the subtler aspects of our humanity. Ayurveda seeks to heal the fragmentation and disorder of the mind-body complex and restore wholeness and harmony to all people.

There has been a lot written on the benefits of oil pulling, however the only one that can be scientifically proven by western science’s definition is better oral health.  Since many diseases are related to poor oral care, it would naturally follow that by having good oral health it would improve your overall being as well.  Personally, I have never much enjoyed the idea of using a chemical concoction to rinse out my mouth, so using a natural product seems much kinder and gentler to my body.  Having encountered a tremendous amount of stress in my life and trying to deal with the effects of that on my body, this just seems like a wonderful opportunity to improve my oral health and in turn my entire person benefits.  Happy oil pulling!

3790373549_66d21dd7ce-400x400

  Healing is a matter of time, but it is sometimes also a matter of opportunity.
Hippocrates, Greek Physician 460 BC –  370 BC

 

 

 

About Wildflower Women

Welcome to my site. I am writing to give people inspiration to hold their voices, especially as concerns the grieving process. My hope is that everyone finds a little inspiration from my site. We are all a work in progress! Namaste.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ayurvedic Oil Pulling

  1. stillmindzen says:

    Yep, never good to use chemicals on or in the body. I’m glad that you found oil pulling, because I was interested in starting it myself. One thing that I love to do is find alternate uses for the things that we are conditioned to just take for granted and see only as they appear on the surface. That’s one thing that stillness of the mind can do for you.
    Thanks for sharing this ^_^

    Like

  2. You are welcome, and I completely agree, by quieting our mind we find the answers to so much.

    Like

  3. Seenorway says:

    Thanks for following my blog. USA?

    Like

    • Yes, USA and Colorado specifically. Having had the privilege of visiting Norway, your photos and stories provide great joy. A cousin of the family will be attending school nearby you commencing sometime this summer. I shared your site with her as she is an avid photographer and speaks Norwegian as well.

      Like

  4. kmoore20 says:

    Good morning WW! Have you noticed any additional sensations or effects of using this method? I had not heard about this and well…have to give this a try. And appreciate the heads up on the option to use coconut oil.

    Like

  5. Not yet, however, I will be interested when I have my next dental check up. My mouth feels incredibly clean and refreshed. The coconut oil is much easier to use!

    Like

  6. http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com
    I just posted on this very topic today and this is so deja vu, because then I noticed your post today immediately afterwards. I guess this is a good sign huh. LOL Thanks for such a lovely post filled with lots of information. Betty

    Like

  7. Wow! I’ve never heard of this before, but am really interested in the idea. Great post, and thanks for stopping by my blog as well!

    Like

    • You are welcome, love your paintings! I have been doing this a couple times a week since I wrote the post and my teeth and gums feels healthier. Curious on my next dental check-up how it goes. If you try it, use the coconut oil as the sesame is not very pleasant.

      Like

Leave a comment